Study sites

Click on the map for a detailed description of each study site.

Gulf of Finland Kattegat Southern North Sea Bay of Biscay Adriatic Sea Eastern Aegean Sea Western Open Black Sea Sea of Marmara


Biodiversity assessment tool developed during DEVOTES project will be tested on 8 selected pilot areas: Gulf of Finland, 2) Kattegat, 3) Southern North Sea, 4) Bay of Biscay, 5) Adriatic Sea, 6) Eastern Aegean Sea, 7) Sea of Marmara, and 8) Western open Black Sea.

All European Regional Seas are represented in the selection of pilot areas and two additional pilot areas are located in transitional seas between the Regional Seas. Testing the biodiversity tool on the pilot areas, in parallel with its development, will provide guidance to modifications and identify strengths and weaknesses, including potential  limitations.